The APEGA Foundation was established in 1996 as the arms-length charitable organization of the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Alberta (APEGA) to fund STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) outreach programs, provide financial assistance to students and encourage more post-secondary capacity.

Learn more about APEGA Foundation and APEGA

Today, we continue to work to influence the career choices of young Albertans. To inspire the next generations of dreamers and problem solvers, we are also focused on growing understanding of the importance of, and societal impact of, engineering and geosciences.

  • Facilitate diverse participation and student success through scholarships and bursaries
  • Engage students K-12, teachers and parents through outreach programs
  • Provide information and engage in public dialogue about our professional roles tackling the most critical challenges
  • Celebrate the achievements of current and past members and students
  • Invest in engineering and geoscience related initiatives for the benefit of the profession and Albertans

Our funding program is made possible by the generous donations of Members; corporations and APEGA permit holders/employers; as well as revenue generation initiatives.



The APEGA Foundation instills pride in APEGA members by investing in engineering & geoscience related initiatives in Alberta for the benefit of the professions and society.


Strong, diverse, sustainable professionals that are understood and valued.

Board of Directors

APEGA Foundation is governed by an independent Board made up of APEGA members and invested community leaders.

  • Jim Gilliland, P.Eng., Ph.D., FEC, FGC (Hon.) – President
  • Gail Powley, P.Eng. – Vice President
  • Peter Myers, P.Eng. – Past President
  • Nat Rutter, P.Geol., FEC, FGC – Secretary Treasurer
  • Vic Perry, P.Eng., FEC, FEIC, FCSCE – Director
  • Deanna Burgart, P.Eng. – Director
  • Gisela Hippolt-Sqair – Director (APEGA Representative)
  • Melissa Kuechler, P.Geol. – Director
  • Mike Shaikh, CA – Director
  • Jeremy Barretto, P.Eng. – Director
  • Colin Yeo, P.Eng. – Director
  • Jane Tink, P.Eng.,FEC, FGC (Hon.) – Director
  • Salman Jivani – Director
  • Shannon Ambrose – Foundation Administrator (Ex-officio)